Teach me to dance

Chronicle of an auto-retro integration

Short piece / work in progress, 2016/17

Aldir Polymeris grew up mainly in Chile. He has a Swiss passport because his mother is Swiss and the Greek nationality because his father is Greek. Aldir himself does not speak Greek and has no contact with his Greek kinship. If you ask Aldir where he comes from or where he is "at home", it is a bit complicated...“

In the form of a tongue-in-cheek-experiment, Cie trop cher to share tests the concept of "integration" in reverse. In search of Aldir's Greek roots, Cie trop cher to share asked Greeks living in Zurich to support Aldir's cultural reintegration. Aldir's "Way to Greek" is a search for what forms a human being - and what is made of it. Teach me to dance is an exploration of the constitution, instrumentalisation and politicization of the notion of „identity“ and the ambivalent handling of western society with origins and "the stranger" as a projection surface of both, our fears and longings.

Performance: Aldir Polymeris // Idea/concept/artistic direction: Nina Willimann // Choreography/text /video: Aldir Polymeris & Nina Willimann in collaboration with: Dance group Erato, Christina Alexandri, Christos Bikos, Eleni Mylona, Evangelos Tsempelis , Dimitra Ioannidou, Vicky Papailiou and Sotiria Diamanti // supported by: Greek community of Zurich, Rote Fabrik, Stillpoint Spaces, Tanzhaus Zurich.

for more pictures: scroll down

Teach me to dance

Chronique d’une auto-intégration en rétrospective

Pièce courte / work in progress 2016/17

Aldir Polymeris a grandit principalement au Chili. Il est titulaire d'un passeport suisse parce que sa mère est de nationalité suisse et il est de nationalité grecque, puisque son père est grec. Aldir lui-même ne parle pas grec et n'a aucun contact avec sa famille en Grèce. Si on demande Aldir d'où il vient… qui il est… c’est un peu compliqué pour lui !

La Cie trop cher to share examine le concept d’ «intégration» dans le sens inverse. La Compagnie a demandé à des expatriés grecs vivant à Zurich d'aider la ré-intégration culturelle d’Aldir au sein de sa communauté "d'origine" en parole et en action. Teach me to dance est une exploration de la constitution, instrumentalisation et la politisation de la notion "d’identité" et de la façon ambivalente des sociétés occidentales de traiter la question des origines et de «l'étranger» comme projection de nos peurs et nos désirs.

Performance: Aldir Polymeris // Idée / Concept / Réalisation: Nina Willimann // Chorégraphie / text / vidéo: Aldir Polymeris & Nina Willimann en coopération avec groupe de danse Erato, Christina Alexandri, Christos Bikos, Eleni Mylona, Evangelos Tsempelis, Dimitra Ioannidou, Vicky Papailiou et Sotiria Diamanti. // soutenu par: communauté grecque de Zurich, Rote Fabrik, Stillpoint spaces, Tanzhaus Zurich

pour plus d'images: scroll down